The Beatitudes: Developing Spiritual Character

SKU 19713

The beatitudes reveal to us eight qualities that bring God's blessing:

  • Meekness and mercy
  • Poorness in spirit and purity of heart
  • Mourning and hunger
  • Peacemaking and persecution

Jesus highlighted these to offer both encouragement and instruction on living distinctly as his followers in a world with values much different from God's. As we study these qualities and integrate them into our lives, we will receive the blessing Jesus promised to his followers then and now.

John Stott is one of the world's leading and most loved Bible teachers and preachers. In this guide you can explore Scripture under his guidance, enhancing your own in-depth study with insights gained from his years of immersion in God's Word.

Content Includes:

Introducing the Beatitudes

  • Putting Our Trust in God - Matthew 5:3; Revelation 3:17-22
  • Repenting of Our Sins - Matthew 5:4; Romans 7:21-25
  • Learning Gentleness - Matthew 5:5; Psalm 37:1-11
  • Becoming Righteous - Matthew 5:6; Romans 9:30-10:4
  • Showing Mercy - Matthew 5:7; Matthew 18:21-35
  • Growing More Holy - Matthew 5:8; Psalm 24:1-6
  • Making Peace - Matthew 5:9; Ephesians 2:11-22
  • Rejoicing Through Persecution - Matthew 5:10-12; Acts 5:17-42

You recently viewed

Clear recently viewed